ECC approves release of RLNG subsidy for export-oriented industry

Apr 28, 2021: The Economic Coordination Committee (ECC) of the Cabinet on Wednesday approved the Power Division regarding the releases of subsidy for the supply of 100 per cent RLNG to export-oriented industry for the month of March 2020.

The meeting was held under the chairmanship of the federal minister for finance and revenue, Shaukat Tarin, said a press statement.

The cabinet committee approved the summary and decided to form a sub-committee consisting of Adviser to PM on Commerce, SAPM on Power and other relevant stakeholders to review the power subsidies provided to export-oriented sectors, with a direction to submit a holistic proposal before the ECC, the statement added.

Power Division presented another summary before the committee regarding the release of the first instalment of payment to the Independent Power Producers (IPPs).

The ECC constituted a sub-committee chaired by the federal minister for finance, comprising ministers and secretaries from energy, petroleum and other concerned ministries for further deliberations.

The sub-committee would present a firmed-up proposal before the next ECC for consideration and approval.

The committee also approved various Technical Supplementary Grants (TSGs) including Rs. 22.7 million for the Law and Justice Division for meeting the shortfall of funds under various administrative and related heads and Rs. 10.025 million in favour of the Ministry of Human Rights to fund the National Trust for the Disabled (NTD), Islamabad.

It also approved Rs. 7.2 million in favour of the Ministry of Housing and Works for the execution of development schemes of the Interior Division and Rs. 262 million in favour of the Ministry of Housing and Works for meeting various necessary expenses.

Among others, the cabinet committee meeting was attended by Federal Minister for Interior, Sheikh Rashid Ahmad; Federal Minister for Economic Affairs Division, Omar Ayub Khan; Federal Minister for Energy, Muhammad Hammad Azhar; Federal Minister for Privatization, Muhammad Mian Soomro; Federal Minister for Railways, Azam Swati; Adviser to Prime Minister on Institutional Reforms, Dr Ishrat Hussain; SAPM on Power, Tabish Gauhar; SAPM on Revenue, Dr Waqar Masood Khan; federal secretaries, Chairman BOI, Chairman SECP and other senior officers.

Governor State Bank (SBP) Dr Reza Baqir joined through a video link, the statement added.


Posted on: 2021-04-28T16:06:00+05:00