Mettis Global News
Mettis Global News
Mettis Global News
Mettis Global News

CPI Preview: Inflation to fall below 14% YoY in May

A construction development policy to formulate for facilitating all stakeholders: PM

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

November 28, 2019: A delegation of Construction Association of Pakistan, headed by Eng. Mr Arshad Dad Khan, called on Prime Minister Imran Khan at PM Office Wednesday. Minister for Planning Mr Asad Umar was also present during the meeting.

The delegation appreciated the vision of the Prime Minister in approving the construction sector as 'industry' and the steps being taken by the present government towards meeting the existing demand for low-cost housing in the country.

While briefing the Prime Minister about the issues being faced by the constructors, the delegation proposed various steps to address these issues. These included the establishment of Construction and Infrastructure Board, setting up of Office of Procurement Ombudsman, capacity building of local construction industry, revisiting tax regime, review of laws and audit procedures and lack of standardization etc.

The Prime Minister welcomed the suggestions and observed that the present government is committed to providing an enabling environment to the construction industry. The Prime Minister approved, in principle, the establishment of the Construction and Infrastructure Board which he said would be instrumental in addressing the issues being faced by the constructors.

The Prime Minister also directed Secretary Planning to formulate a construction development policy for facilitating all stakeholders including contractors, clients and consultants. The Prime Minister observed that the present government is focusing on employing technology and making the processes digital to reduce human interface, eliminate corruption and ensure transparency in all business activities.

The delegation included Mr Asad Ullah, Eng. Kamal Nasir, Mr Ayub Sheikh, Eng. Attah Ullah Khan, Mr Aftab Siddiqui, Ch. Habib Kanwal, Mr Yaqoob Izhar and Mr Ikram Ch.

Posted on: 2019-11-28T10:09:00+05:00