US: Europe, 6 other countries exempt from steel/aluminum tariffs for now

AFP/APP – Europe and six other countries will be exempt at least temporarily from the harsh steel and aluminum tariffs President Donald Trump has imposed, a top US trade official said Thursday.

US Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer told a Senate panel that Trump authorized a “pause” in the tariffs while talks are underway to find a more permanent solution.

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Mexico and South Korea will also be exempt from the penalties of 25 percent on steel imports and 10 percent on aluminum, he said.

Posted on: 2018-03-22T22:49:00+05:00