Shamshad Akhtar to helm Ministry of Finance in caretaker setup

A six-member cabinet was appointed by the interim Prime Minister Justice (Retd.) Nasir-ul-Mulk was sworn in a ceremony held in Islamabad today.

The cabinet includes former governor of State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) Ms. Shamshad Akhtar, former Pakistan ambassador to the United Nations Abdullah Hussain Haroon, former Senator Roshan Khursheed Bharucha, Mohammad Yousuf Sheikh, Mohammad Azam Kham and Syed Ali Zafar.

During the oath taking ceremony Dr. Shamshad Akhtar was appointed as the head at Ministry of Finance, Mr. Syed Zafar Ali was appointed as the Law Minister and Pakistan’s business tycoon Mr. Abdullah Haroon was selected as the Foreign Minister of the country.

Dr. Shamshad Akhtar is currently an Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and the tenth Executive Secretary of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. She serves as the Coordinator of the five United Nations Regional Commissions.

Dr. Akhtar has previously served as Governor State Bank of Pakistan. In her capacity as Governor, Ms. Akhtar was also the Chairperson of the Central Bank Board and its affiliates, as well as a Governor of the International Monetary Fund.

The caretaker cabinet will serve until a new government is elected through the 2018 general election scheduled for July 25.

Interim Prime Minister's Cabinet

S. No.




Mr. Abdullah Hussain Haroon

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

National Security Division

Additional Portfolio:

Ministry of Defence

Ministry of Defence Production


Mr. Muhammad  Azam Khan

Ministry of Interior

Capital Administration and Development Division

Ministry of Narcotics Control

Additional Portfolio:

Ministry of Inter-Provincial Coordination


Dr. Shamshad Akhtar

Ministry of Finance, Revenue and Economic Affairs

Ministry of Statistics

Ministry of Planning, Development and Reform

Additional Portfolio:

Ministry of Commerce and Textile

Ministry of Industries and Production


Syed Ali Zafar

Ministry of Law and Justice

Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs

Ministry of Information, Broadcasting, National History and Literary Heritage


Mr. Muhammad Yusuf Shaikh

Ministry of Federal Education and Professional Training

Additional Portfolio:

Ministry of National Health Services, Regulations and Coordination

Ministry of Religious Affairs and Inter-faith Harmony


Mrs. Roshan Khursheed Bharucha

Ministry of Human Rights

Ministry of Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit Baltistan

Ministry of States and Frontier Regions


Posted on: 2018-06-05T12:40:00+05:00